Amazing life of Traveling #2 BRUSSELS, BELGIUM ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช


BRUSSELS, BELGIUM FROM AUGUST 31, 2011 THROUGH September 3, 2011

I stayed at Best Western City Centre Square Victoria Regina 9, B1210, Brussels BelgiumThe hotel is not that greatโ€”but I am budget traveler-not fancy-and good enough for $- breakfast is included but it is not all that. There is another Best Western hotel right next to Gare Brussels- it might be better & $$ the location is good also, better than the one I have-but could not complain. The other Best Western is right next to the chocolate semi-factory.
 1. Royal Palace or Maison du Roi; It is amazing โ€“ grand-Official palace of the king of Belgium. It is not used as royal residence-the king and his family live in Royal Castle of Laeken-on outskirt of Brussels. Entrance is free-visited on September 2, 2011 at 10:29 am Friday

2. St Michael & St. Gudula Cathedral– is a Gothic Roman Catholic Church. Open 7 am โ€“ 7 pm from April to September. Free. Since it is located between my hotel and Gare Centrale- I stop by every mooring and pass by in the evening. It has its own way of bringing piece to me. It is a most beautiful and peaceful church. This is my favorite of all!!!!!!โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ

3. Manneken Pis– This is a joke- I could not believe my eyeโ€ฆand every time I think about it I want to laugh so loud. I mean you hear so much about this statue, see a lot of picture- you just could not imagine Brussels without this statue and you will go to visit itโ€ฆit is the most smallest statue. You think you found the replica of it as a joke; till you are told this is it I still could not believe it.  What a disappointment ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿค’

4. Notre Dame Du Sablon– free. It took me forever to find this church. I had almost given up, even though now I am doing much better in finding  my locations. Church of Our Lady of Sablon- Gothic church few blocks of South of Grand Place and Southwest of the Place Royal. Adjust to it- Petite Sablon- it is a small park-nice!

5. Park de Bruxelles– It is an old park- I wish they had maintain it ..it is located in the bad neighborhood (Red light neighborhood) and our hotel located not that far from it LOL!!   You could just sit in that park and time will fly.  

6. Atomiu-is a monument orginaly built for Expo โ€™58, the 1958 Brussels Worldโ€™s Fair-Designed by Andre Waterkeyn & Les Architectes Polak. It stands 102 metres tall. Located on Boulevard Du Centenaire, beside the King Baudouin Stadium in Heysel Park- next to it are the Mini Europe (I did not go there but it looks interesting looking at the picture) and the Heysel/Heizel Metro station. I did not go inside the Atomiu- I did not feel it worth it- but the outside is a Wow design!! The architect will take your breath away-it glamour-sparkling and mind twisting.  If you are in Brussels make sure you visit๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฝ for creator 

7. City Bruges- โ€œVenice of the Northโ€ Lake of Love.- How to get to the city- from Central Station take a train which goes to Bruges-1hour โ€“it cost about 30.00 Euro. There are two trains which lives the station every hour. The city is small โ€“I am sure it will look much nicer in evening- it looks like they are trying to preserve the city as it appear in the old times-the roads; the road lights are different from 20th century. I wish I had a time and stayed one night โ€“just to enjoy the night. I had lunch at Grote Markt (Market Square); took a boat ride through the canals โ€“it was a pleasant experience.

8. If you know how to roller skate or bike-you should be in Brussels around the time they have skate or bike around the city event-which is held every Friday at 8 pm from June till end of September. It start at Square around Notre Dame du Sablon-do not worry if you do not have the roller blade o bike-they have cycles for rent. It feel like you are in some outdoor open party- the music blasting โ€“it is organized by the city-so the City police with their uniform also join the skaters and cyclist โ€ฆit is nice- Luck for me I stumble at the event returning after a visit to Notre Dame Du Sablon on September 2, 2011 around 7:30 pm- walking back to my hotelโ€ฆ.I feel like I knew city very well nowโ€ฆI walk every where

9. Place St. Gerg– life music, clubs, restaurantโ€™s & cafeโ€™sโ€ฆI had a good time โ€ฆbut I still think overall the square which is not that far from Gare Brussels is the place to be in sometime the afternoon. It is fun-people just sit on the stairs drink have a good time. On September 2, 2011 on Friday I was just walking around at the square-five young girls are sitting on the stairs having just a good time-drinking and chitchatting- age between 19 and 25. I want to capture it in picture-so I ask them if I could take the picture around 8:30 pm- they say sure and sat down chitchat for a while took the priceless picture.  

PS- If you are in Brussels you must taste the mussels- it is a saying I did not-but I did have mussels in France -1st time and I regret that I was not brave enough in Brussels

Leave a Reply

